Sun Aug 13, 2017 1:00pm – 4:00pm

Broad Stripes and Bright Stars Closing Reception

Sponsored by: Ely Center of Contemporary Art

Curated by Aicha Woods and Dave Coon, “Broad Stripes and Bright Stars” is a new exhibition on view at The Ely Center of Contemporary Art, 51 Trumbull Street, New Haven, CT. It presents 60+ years of artists who have creatively responded to the American Flag.

For the closing event, guests are invited to bring along their tired, worn-out American Flags for a proper retirement ceremony led by New Haven VFW chaplain James Mamoun and artist veteran Derek Torrellas.

This exhibition charts the waves of American Flags in protest and in celebration, as well as the pendulum of First Amendment rulings. A quote from the 1974 U.S. Supreme Court case Spencer vs Washington, is the essence of the exhibition; “It might be said that we all draw something from our national symbol, for it is capable of conveying simultaneously a spectrum of meanings”.

A list of participating artists include; Francisco ‘Chico’ Aragao, Tom Strong, Christine Tinsley, Cey Adams, Merritt Johnson, Alteronce Gumby, Lisa Kereszi, Marion Belanger, Annie Thornton, Stephen Shore, John T. Hill, Natalie Baxter, DAZE, Jane Fine, Lex Brown, Michael St. John, Destiny Palmer, Sister Corita Kent, Jay Critchley, Marc Morrell, Sket One, Mauricio Cortes Ortega, Laura Genes, Esperanza Mayobre, Moussa Gueye, Susan Clinard, Azzah Sultan, Ruben Marroquin, Conseulo Jimenez Underwood, The Citizen Project, James Esber, Caitlin Cherry, Erika Ranee, Helen Zughaib, Stanwyck Cromwell, Dooley-O, Josh Griffin, Wayne Koestenbaum, Bean Gilsdorf, Zeph Farnby, Insook Hwang, Phil Knoll, Sue Muskat, Tizzy Mills, Chen Reichert, Phil Lique, Laura Marsh, Aude Jomini, Gabriella Svenningsen, Karin Schaefer, Jim Martin, Walker Evans, Robert D’Alessandro, Jeff Mueller, Norman Ives, Just Seeds Collective, Jesse Albrecht, John O’Donnell, Bill Becket, Sven Martson, Carol Diehl, Mark Olshanski, Geoffrey Young, Vandana Jain, Curtis Woody, Laurel Porcari, Leslie Carmin, The New Haven Museum, Chris Crawford, Price Harrison, Martha Lewis, and Mark Williams.

Admission: FREE
Ely Center of Contemporary Art
51 Trumbull Street
New Haven
get directions

more info »